The Feast of Ovens

Standard

Musings on the Goddess

Fornax– Roman Godess of Ovens

Fornacalia

 

The Ancient Romans have been portrayed as a very decadent people but contrary to popular belief they were a religious people believing and honoring many gods. It seems they had a god for everything under the Sun and for every purpose! One of these Goddesses was Fornax the Goddess of Ovens.

 Around this time of year (February 5th  through the 17th) ancient Roman people celebrated the Fornacalia in honor of Fornax. Bread (spelt) was baked and given as gifts to others and to Fornax. The ovens were warming homes and filling the air with fragrant breads and baked goods.

 In honor of the Fornacalia I am conscious of what I am baking in my oven not only my physical oven but the metaphorical oven of my spiritual life and mundane or more physical life. Well, I’m not baking bread but I am roasting my veggies and baking cakes for celebration. In my spiritual life I am concentrating on really bringing forth that Queen aspect of the Goddess that I have discussed in past blogs. I have Juno to thank for really giving me a jump start on that growth! In the more physical realm I am researching and taking notes for my book on the Roman Goddesses and I am working on my new business – Authentic – Goddess. I am also guiding my coven into our new year with all the potential and possibilities we have available this is an exciting time for me, for my business and book, and for my coven.

So, what is baking in your oven? How can you honor the Feast of Ovens and the Goddess Fornax or just the universe? Bake away!

 And as always – GO, BE, DO!!!

About ladyisisrose ~ authentic-goddess.com

I am a spiritual practitioner and priestess in my community. I am an expert on Goddess Spirituality. I believe in encouraging women to empower. themselves, I am also author of "Witch in the Neighborhood" which focuses on being a woman of power in your community. I feel very strongly about not isolating ourselves and working your magick in you neighborhood communities. "Witch in the Neighborhood" also describes how you can use your gifts and talents to make a difference and have lots of fun! The artwork in "Witch in the Neighborhood" is by Sabrina, The Ink Witch, my mentor and priestess. I am also writing a quarterly column 'The Goddess In Me' for The Witches' Hour a national e-zine.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

